Gustav KLIMT, The Three Ages of a Woman, 1905
Gustav KLIMT, The Three
Ages of a Woman, 1905
The Austrian Society for Bone and Mineral Research
announces its
The prize, a continuation of the Chemofux prizes, sponsored by Meda Pharma Ges. m.b.H., acknowledges an individual whose recent work in the fields of molecular, cellular, (patho)physiological or clinical aspects of bone and mineral metabolism has resulted in a novel finding or concept.

Individuals are invited to submit up to three related publications that have appeared since 2006. Papers in press are acceptable if accompanied by an acceptance letter from the journal. Publication must be in English, in refereed journals listed in Current Contents.

Applicants should describe their finding or concept and its background in a brief statement, not to exceed 300 words, emphasizing the importance of their contribution to progress in bone and mineral metabolism. The letter of application should also include a brief biographical sketch, along with letters by co-authors stating that they agree to the submission and either wish to share the prize money or waive their claim to it.

The prize of EUR 7,500.- will be awarded at the 36th European Symposium on Calcified Tissues, which will be held in Vienna, Austria, on May 23 - 27, 2009. The work of the prize winner will be featured during this conference.

Applications (1 original plus 11 copies) must be submitted not later than October 31, 2008 to: Dr. Klaus Klaushofer, Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Osteology at the Hanusch Hospital of WGKK and AUVA Trauma Centre Meidling, 4th Medical Department, Hanusch Hospital, Heinrich Collin-Strasse 30, A-1140 Vienna, Austria. All entries which comply to the aforementioned regulations will be forwarded to an International Jury which will independently select the prize winner.

The jury consists of: K. Klaushofer (Vienna, Chair), E. M. Brown (Boston), G. Karsenty (Houston), S. Kato (Tokyo), T. J. Martin (Fitzroy), M. Peterlik (Vienna), C. van Os (Nijmegen), L. Raisz (Farmington), P. Stern (Chicago), H. Takayanagi (Tokyo), A. Teti (Rome).

The jury's decision is final and cannot be appealed. The winner will be notified by end of January 2009.

Previous Prize Winners:
1988: T. J. Martin
1991: M. Thomasset and A. Teti
1994: E. M. Brown
1997: G. Karsenty
2000: S. Kato
2003: J. Penninger
2006: H. Takayanagi
36th European Symposium on
Calcified Tissues
on the occasion of the
Awarding of the "2009 International Research Prize"
Vienna, Austria May,                 23 - 27, 2009

An international exhibition of the pharmaceutical industry and technical equipment is planned. Exhibition Management:
Medizinische Ausstellungs- und Werbegesellschaft
Freyung 6, A-1010 Vienna, Austria
Phone: (+43/1) 536 63-0, Fax: (+43/1) 535 60 16
International Conference on Progress in Bone and Mineral Research